Monthly Challenges: March

Standard

Little late on making this post but better late than never, right? So, for the month of March, I will be doing two challenges.

The first challenge is a personal one. I am challenging myself to go (the rest of) the month without asking for reassurance. This is something that is triggered by my anxiety. If I feel like I have said something wrong, when in reality I know that I absolutely did not, I will panic and ask if me and that person are okay. I will panic until they respond and even when they do, I double check and over explain myself and further freak out. I will say, don’t leave me, don’t go, I’m sorry, I hope you aren’t mad. These insecurities and fears mostly stem from my previous relationship, but some have just been with me since I was a little kid.

Although I have drastically improved my need for reassurance and my ability to just sit through the feeling, let it hit and let it pass, instead of acting on those impulses, I am excited to challenge myself to go a full month without engaging in that behavior. I think I am going to be really well honestly and hopefully I can continue that into the months that follow. So here’s to fighting anxiety, I hope I can do it!

My second challenge for the remainder of the month will hopefully make the above challenge easier for me to get through. I am doing the 21 day anxiety challenge, which I found on Pinterest, typical. This challenge gives me one activity to do per day and is centered around reducing my anxiety and increasing my ability to manage triggers and be more mindful during attacks or general thought patterns. I am excited to try this challenge, but last time I tried a challenge like this, I didn’t do well. I would forget about it and then end up completing four days worth of anxiety exercises in one day, which only increased my anxiety because I was obsessing over getting them in and completing the challenge. So I’m also going to try to stick with it, but not beat myself up or obsess when I skip a day or two!

Wish me luck and please feel free to join me!

Leave a Reply

